July 2017

Crochet Socks – Black Orchid

Hi everyone, how are you all doing?

Well look at this we’re at the start of another month, where the heck did June go?

Some of my June makes

I’m gradually working with my ever expanding WIP pile, and June has been a busy one! This month I managed to finish a couple of shawls, a scarf and a baby blanket. I’m still working on Alice the Zebra from Edward’s Menagerie so far she has a body, head and leg!!

Alice the Zebra…well she’s meant to be

However I’m easily distracted and decided to start a pair of socks. I had caked up some scrummy yarn from Oh For Hook’s Sake that I had ear marked for the socks, I just wasn’t sure of a pattern yet.

Hacienda

So after seeing some lovely socks made to a Magpie and Goblin pattern on insta, I headed over to Ravelry and finally settled for their Black Orchid pattern, I was actually going to make a pair socks!!

The pattern suggested a size 3mm hook, but I decided to size up to a 4mm because A) I’m a tight crocheter and B) my Sasquatch feet. Working through the pattern the instructions were clear and easy to follow, I did stumble round the toe; but think this was because I was crocheting well past my bedtime! As soon as I got it I was well away, I have to say I love the overall effect, I finished the first sock this morning, it worked up quickly and looks great in the yarn, my only disappointment is that they feel and look a bit too big. I should have played about with the hook sizes and not mad such a big jump to a 4mm but in saying that I think they will be fab in the cooler months! 

Warm foot

Now on to the next one and then get back to Alice! 

Alice the Zebra

Let me know what you’ve been up to! ☺️
 

3 thoughts on “Crochet Socks – Black Orchid

  1. I am laughing at the Sasquatch feet!!! I call mine Hobbit feet!!! You have some absolutely gorgeous makes for June!!! I’m always so happy to meet another “yarn/wip/crochet-aholic”. Can’t wait to see that Zebra when she’s done – she’s going to be so cute!! πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

