June 2017

A Little Piece of Heaven 

“Sure a little bit of Heaven fell from out the sky one day

and it nestled in the ocean in a place so far away

and when the angels found it sure it looked so sweet and fair

they said suppose we leave it for it lookes so peaceful there
So they sprinkled it with stardust just to make the shamorcks grow

it’s the only place you’ll find them no matter where you go

then they darted it with silver just to make the lakes look grand

and when they had it finsihed sure they called it Ireland”.   By J. Keirn Brennan and Ernest R. Ball


This is only my second visit to Ireland and I fell completely in love with its charm then. As this years holiday here draws to a close, I’m again beginning to reflect on some of my adventures whilst here, and also considering when I can come again?! Could we manage another trip before October?!

I’d like to share some of my pictures from my trip; when we arrived in Baltimore we had brought the weather from the UK with us and we’re hopeful of a few nice days, we headed to the local for a celebratory drink and a front row seat to the sun set. A few showers and drinks later we headed home!


Barley Cove is on the way to Mizen Head; it happens to be a favourite beach of my other half, his family and dogs and it’s hard not to see why. It stretches on, with glorious golden sands and the sea that’s is the clearest and most beautiful blue/greens that I’ve ever witnessed. It was really windy when we went, but that didn’t stop me from lying back, enjoying the sun on my face and listening to the waves crashing on to the beach. I went home with sand in my pockets and I think I ate my fair share too!!


Yesterday we went to Gougane Barra, here we did a short walk around the National Forest Park and then visited St. Finbarr’s Oratory. Despite the weather being against us, I can honestly say this is truly heaven on earth. The sear beauty and peace of this place will forever hold a special place in my heart. The colours, sounds, and smells are indescribable, I came away filled with joy, and an intense feeling of loving the colour green!!


Today we went on another walk, this time more local, up to the Baltimore Beacon. It was flipping tough going and a with few “James I want to go back” and “I don’t think my leg will get up there” we made it! It was like our own private spot, looking out on the sea and Sherkin Island.


With each adventure, I’ve been soaked in an array of colours, each filling me up with ideas and joy.

“I felt my lungs inflate with the onrush of scenery—air, mountains, trees, people. I thought, ‘This is what it is to be happy.'”    —Sylvia Plath, The Bell Jar

Leave a Reply

